Centennial of Pine River, 1973 looking forward to 150+ years!

The city of Pine River has been good to me.  On my first visit they gave me my own copy of their book: Logsleds to Snowmobiles and I am happy to say that it has fallen apart because I used it so much.  I have it safely cared for in a binder.

I celebrate Pine River, Cass County, Minnesota.  I thank them for honoring my great-grandfather George Angus Barclay and great grandmother Amarilla Spracklin Barclay as the founders of the town. In honor of the preservation of the Train Depot, I had a plaque created, dedicated to the memory of my great grandparents and their descendants.  Hopefully it is on the wall of the museum there or the Visitor Center.

Family History Library has this book in its library in Salt Lake City.

Logsleds to Snowmobiles

Logsleds to Snowmobiles

I was also given a copy of the Pine River Journal Newspaper 1873 to 1973 Centennial Vol. 37, Number 22.  The newspaper has received a bit of wear but is still in pretty good shape.

Pine River Journal - Centennial 1873 to 1973

Pine River Journal – Centennial 1873 to 1973

Both of these historical items have been of immense help to me in my research on my family.  They have given me a base from which to build my research on my great grandparents George and Amarilla Barclay.

Thank you Pine River, and I look forward to 150 years more.

Leave a Reply

